School Board Members

The Berkeley Unified School District Board of Education is comprised of five elected members who serve staggered four year terms and two student directors elected from the high schools each year.

BUSD Board Mar 26 2014 1 72

BUSD Board of Education in new BUSD Board Room March 25, 2014

2014 BUSD Board of Education

BUSD Board of Education December 11, 2013

Voicemail messages can be left for all board members at this number: 510-644-6550.  Email addresses are listed below each director below.

To communicate with Board Members via email:

Karen Hemphill, (2014)

Josh Daniels, President (2014)







Beatriz Leyva-Cutler, Clerk (2016)








Judy Appel Vice President (2016)







Julie Sinai (2014)

Shira Wolkenfeld 72









Shira Wolkenfeld, Student Director – BHS (2013-14)



Contact Information for the BUSD Board of Directors:
Individual email addresses above or will send your message to all of the Board.